Past Award Winners

COL Bzdula Award

  • Recognizes significant contributions during Optometry Student Status within the professional realm of Optometry and Federal Service.

  • Must be an active AFOS and AOA Student member.

  • Candidate must be enrolled in one of the accredited Schools of Optometry and not have graduated at the time of the submission.

  • Nomination to come from any AFOS member or qualified individual familiar with the student’s accomplishments.

  • Judged by a minimum panel of 5 active AFOS optometrists serving on the Awards Committee who have been members of AFOS for at least 2 years.  These members are selected from various branches of service.

  • Award named after Edward F. "Doctor Buzz" Bzdula who passed away in 2005.


2011 Melanie Zhang 

2012 Roya Attarhousseinni

2013 Matt Weinheimer

2014 Matt Weinheimer

2015 Katherine Allen

2017 Matthew Orgill

2020 Nathan Keyes

2021 Nathan Keyes